Books I am excited about

My neighborhood bookstore has gone crazy! It’s giving me books at super discounted prices. Which makes me very happy of course. These are the books that I am really excited about. They are not all best sellers nor are they published recently. They excite me because of what they have to say.


The Biographer’s Tale by A.S. Byatt
A postmodern enquiry into the nature of biography. According to the Random House site, it has been hailed as, “…an ingenious novel about love and literary sleuthing: a dazzling fiction woven out of one man’s search for fact.”


Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt
A travelogue and murder mystery with the American South as the background. Has also been made into a movie.


In the name of Salomé by Julia Alvarez
A historical novel that traces the evolution of the Dominican nation state through the eyes of two women; one a mother and a National poet, the other a daughter and a teacher. I have finished reading this novel.


The Sugar Island by Ivonne Lamazares
This one comes from Cuba. A novel about a mother-daughter relationship with the Cuban revolution in the background.


The Demon Archer by P.C Doherty
A medieval murder mystery that has all the suspense, thrill, intelligence, and awe of a 20th century detective story. Doherty excels in bringing out the atmosphere using small details. Of course, don’t forget the pace.


The Horus Killings by P.C. Doherty
I have yet to read this one. But I am looking forward to it. Doherty does a U turn and tackles murder in ancient Eqypt. I have the book in hand and if it is anything like The Demon Archer, I know I will be enjoying it a lot. If you are interested in Ancient historical fiction or mystery, especially if you are into all things Egypt like I am, you will like this novel too.

Let me know what you think.

