A little poem I found a long time ago

This was a poem that I stumbled across sometime ago. I don’t remember when and the poet’s name was also anonymous. But I loved reading it again and again and again…

How old am I? I’ll be 92 next Christmas
Though I won’t admit to one day over 20…
Even after all the birthday cards are cut and shuffled
It’s hard to figure
I’ve aged at least 500 years since I stumbled into you;
Yet I still believe in faerie tales
Like the Princess and the Frog
And I still believe you wanted me
Perhaps I am only three or so?
You’ll never know how old I am
But I’ll tell you anyway
I was born the hour I met you… and died today.

Update: A has been gracious enough to inform me that this is a poem by Linda Goodman and it’s from her collection “Venus Trines at Midnight”.

9 thoughts on “A little poem I found a long time ago

    1. Hi Tarika, welcome to South of the Border, West of the Sun! It’s to do with love and how it doesn’t age even if times passes. At least that is what I think it is.

Let me know what you think.

