Kali Pujo

While the rest of the India – and wherever Indians are – celebrate Diwali, we Bengalis celebrate Kali Pujo. The charcoal-colored goddess with the supra-red tongue which is said to have been slipped out of her mouth after she steps -accidently of course- on her husband, Shiv.

I fasted for Kali Pujo. A 24-hour, no-side-effects fast. Water and fluids keep me going till the anjuli is over after 11 at night. I have been fasting for the last 3 years. I’m a little hazy on the details: this may be my 3rd year or 4th year of fasting. I have no sense of religiousness even though I fast. I fast because (a) I wanted to see if I could fast (b) because no one tells me to. Once I discovered that I could fast, it’s a no big deal now. I fast and wear a sari (charcoal-black with musturd zari border, a Poona cotton this time; keeping Ma Kali company in the color sector). Very abnormal behaviour according to my friends….

It was quite a non-happening Pujo as my brother and mom weren’t here.

6 thoughts on “Kali Pujo

  1. We Bengalis celebrate Laxmi puja on the full moon night preceding Diwali and on Diwali (amavaysa) we worship the Goddess Kali; whereas North-Indians seek the blessings of Laxmi. Does it in anyway signify that we are ahead of the times? 😉

Let me know what you think.

