Between the sublime and the ridiculous

How do you balance the sublime and the ridiculous?
Do you laugh out loud at scatological jokes?
Do you nod when Plato is discussed?
I do all of these. Maybe that’s why
I don’t know how to balance
the sublime and the ridiculous.

Do you miss a party to read a book?
Do you go to plays and understand them?
Do you dance when popular numbers come on?
I do all of these. Maybe that’s why
I don’t know how to balance
the sublime and the ridiculous.

Do you discuss books in your blog?
Do you post unwanted quizzes?
I do both. Maybe that’s why
I don’t know how to balance
the sublime and the ridiculous.

Do you like Neruda’s poetry?
Do you like Rahman’s music?
Do you laugh at forwarded jokes?
Did you try your hand at poetry?
I do all of these. Maybe that’s why
I don’t know how to balance
the sublime and the ridiculous.

9 thoughts on “Between the sublime and the ridiculous

  1. Mrudula: I really didn’t think of it that way. I think that I agree with you.

    Rita: Thanks! I sincerely hope so!

    Musafir: That’s true! 🙂 Thanks for dropping by.

  2. anything sublime is just ridiculous and misunderstood ;-).

    so don’t worry. unless you’re being too sublime that is.

    regards,
    asuph.

  3. I do most of what you’ve said that you do..Does that mean that I too don’t know how to balance the sublime and ridiculous stuff? 🙂

    Huh! Never thought like this before..this is thought provoking..! 🙂

  4. Asuph, that is a very unique point of view. Thanks!

    Rohit, thanks so much!

    the one, there is a difference between the two. And yeah Plato might have laughed at scatological jokes too!

    Naveen, yeah, I know what you mean!

Let me know what you think.

