The rose, the prince, and some quotable quotes

Since I am totally into the Tale of the Rose that I started doing some research online about his wife Consuelo de Saint-Exupéry (Consuelo means consolation in Spanish). I found these quotes from Saint-Ex’s books.

Life has taught us that love does not consist in gazing at each other but in looking outward together in the same direction. ~ Wind, Sand and Stars

I should wait for night, I said to myself; and if I was still alive I would walk alone on the highway that runs through our village. Alone and safely isolated in my beloved solitude. So that I might discover why it is I ought to die.~ Flight to Arras

I should have liked to begin this story in the fashion of the fairy-tales. I should have liked to say: ‘Once upon a time there was a little prince who lived on a planet that was scarcely any bigger than himself, and who had need of a friend . . . ~ The Little Prince

But certainly, for those of us who understand life, figures are a matter of indifference.~ The Little Prince

When a mystery is too overpowering, one dare not disobey.~ The Little Prince

What makes the desert beautiful is that somewhere it hides a well . . .~ The Little Prince

The thing that is important is the thing that is not seen.~ The Little Prince

But the eyes are blind. One must look with the heart . . .~ The Little Prince

‘I wonder,’ he said, ‘whether the stars are set alight in heaven so that one day each of us may find his own again . . . .’ ~ The Little Prince

In one of the stars I shall be living. In one of them I shall be laughing. And so it will be as if all the stars were laughing, when you look at the sky at night . . . You — only you — will have the stars that can laugh!~ The Little Prince

8 thoughts on “The rose, the prince, and some quotable quotes

  1. The Little Prince, I don’t know how many times I’ve reread it (in multiple languages). The sketches, I loved them.

    So true, so simple.

  2. “Life has taught us that love does not consist in gazing at each other but in looking outward together in the same direction. ~ Wind, Sand and Stars”

    Oh i love this quote. 🙂 nice…

  3. Wbix: You are most welcome. Thanks for dropping my blog. I hope to see you again!

    Zee: Oh yes! Let’s say this is a book I would be giving my kids! 🙂

    Soumyadip: I know!

    Hiren: Thanks. Thanks for dropping my blog.

    Rohit: I know what you mean!

    Jewel Rays: I love that one too!

    AquaM: You are most welcome!

Let me know what you think.

