It’s raining memes: The Nine Quartets

We all know Beth from her ubër cool Bollywood blog. But this time, in keeping with the blog tradition, she had tagged me from her other blog.

Four jobs I have had:
Sari salesgirl (at 15, my first job. Was so careless, lost half the money I earned from it!)
English tutor (online)
Feature writer (wrote about slim Bollywood starlets among travel and sports stuff)
Copyeditor

Four movies I could watch over and over:
Sholay (Amitabh Bachchan, Dharmendra, Hema Malini)
Sense and Sensibility (Emma Thompson, Kate Winslet, Hugh Grant; Scripted by Emma Thompson)
Anupama (Dharmendra, Sharmila Tagore; directed by Hrishikesh Mukherjee)
Golmal

Four places I’ve lived:
Calcutta
Chennai
This is embarrassing. I have not lived in that many places yet.

Four TV shows I love to watch:
Zoë
Charmed
Lonely Planet (On Discovery travel and living)
Sarabhai Vs Sarabhai

Four places I’ve been to on vacation:
Pondicherry
Calcutta
Bangalore
Dehra Dun

Four of my favorite foods:
Anything my mom makes with mustard oil (almost all Bengali dishes, that is)
French fries (with a burger preferably)
A green salad (diced cucumber, onions, tomatoes, chillies, coriander leaves with a dash of lime and a sprinkle of rock salt [or sea salt])
Chocolate fudge brownie with ice cream

Four places I’d rather be right now:
Travelling from Paris to London to New York to Bangkok to Hong Kong to Japan to the Polynesian Islands to Singapore to… You get the drift? Basically travelling.
Calcutta (feted as the prodigal daughter returns home as a famous writer)
A beach house lazing away with vodka and a good book (I love the sea; can’t stay away from it)
At a flea market in Goa

Four sites I visit daily:
Google (it’s my homepage and gmail)
Rediff (for movie and Bollywood updates)
My own blog (and from there to everyone on my sidebar and comments section)
My del.icio.us page

Four bloggers I am tagging:
AquaM
Rita
Vee
Zee

11 thoughts on “It’s raining memes: The Nine Quartets

  1. A fellow Anupama fan? Wah wah! I’m sure you’ll agree that Sharmila has never looked more beautiful than in the song “Kuchh dil ne kaha…” and Dharmendra more handsome than in the song “Ya Dil ki suno…”(which incidentally, is one of amy all-time favorite numbers, by my favorite singer)! But I don’t watch it again and again, in fact, I’ve watched it exactly once. Will write about this quirk on my blog some day!

  2. Zee: Of course! This is a simple tag!

    Obi Wan: Yes, Anupama is one of the most beautiful movies I have ever seen. The songs haunt me till this day. I could see the movie again and again just for those haunting melodies. But there is so much more to it! I can never reconcile how Dharmendra become the “mein-tera-khoon-pi-jaonga” Dharmendra that every one knows him as.

  3. Anupama.. Ah! My grand-dad is crazy about this film. Then he finally made me see it. I loved it.

    Aren’t there just too many tags on blogs these days!

  4. Hi AFJ

    *smiles a feature writer..:) wow..

    now i get to know u a little more through all da tagging..

    Nice…;)

    Have a great weekend!

  5. Hehe these tags are funny..they’re a nice way of having fun and spending time..but they also make the person reveal a lot of information about himself:-) Great to know you love travelling..we share a common interest there!! And yeah, have a wonderful weekend!

  6. Sorry for being underwater for a while.. came up for some air but am going back in.

    Your site design has really come a long way. Good work!

    Thanks for the comments you left. I have a new poser on my
    Life blog – would be curious to hear what a n Indian in India wold think of it.

  7. Heyyyy, I didn’t know that youhad worked as a asri salesgirl! 🙂
    My post will be up soon. Of late, I’ve been quite lazy 😦

  8. Rohit: Yup they are! But they are fun too!

    Jewel Rays: Yes, I know. Maybe that is the general idea.

    The Monk: Thanks!

    Sudarshan: Yes we do. Thanks so much!

    AquaM: Please do.

    Somik: Oh my god! It’s been ages. Of course I will check your blog!

    Rita: Not many people knew. Now, everyone does!

Let me know what you think.

