Some infotainment

Okhil Babu’s letter to the Railway Department:

“I am arrive by passenger train Ahmedpur station and my belly is toomuch swelling with jackfruit. I am therefore went to privy. Just I doingthe nuisance that guard making whistle blow for train to go off and I amrunning with ‘lotah’ in one hand and ‘dhoti’ in the next when I am fallover and expose all my shocking to man and female women on plateform. Iam got leaved at Ahmedpur station.

This too much bad, if passenger go to make dung that dam guard not waittrain five minutes for him. I am therefore pray your honour to make bigfine on that guard for public sake. Otherwise I am making big report topapers.”

Okhil Chandra Sen wrote this letter to the Sahibganj divisional railwayoffice in 1909. It is on display at the Railway Museum in New ! Delhi.It Was also reproduced under the caption “Travelers’ Tales” in the FarEastern Economic Review. Any guesses why this letter was of historicvalue?

It apparently led to the introduction of toilets on trains.

2 thoughts on “Some infotainment

Let me know what you think.

