A post in rhyme

I was reading Vikram Seth’s poetry,
So it kind of hit me,
Why not for once write in rhyme, abcb and so on.
Since, it did not seem too wrong
I thought I should try. It, of course, could be supremely stupid or nice
Maybe I could try it once or twice.

My first thought was a review in rhyme,
-I was a bit hesitant since it was my first time-
of a movie, book or TV show.
Since I had read many and seen many more.
But something about it seemed a bit off.
So I settled for a blog post (Don’t scoff!)

Two paragraphs or more
Nothing that would bore
My readers: an impromptu poem was what I need.
Nothing too formal, nothing that would breed
a longer poem. So, here it is –
(I sincerely hope you won’t miss this.)
No frills, no high-fi vocabulary,
No reviews, no books, nothing exemplery.
Just a few words stringed together
By rhyme, meter and some excellent hot weather,
Which I admit kept me indoors through the day,
Even though it is not even May.

This brings me to the last few lines,
At this point, I really am running out of rhymes.
If you do like it or not, there’s something you can do-
How about dropping in a sentence or two?
You can even tear it apart line by line.
Anything sincere would be fine.
So I say bye for now,
With the promise to be back tomorrow.

5 thoughts on “A post in rhyme

  1. You will never cease to surprise me AFJ. That was brilliant. I see that the break from blogging has really worked wonders for you 🙂

  2. It really was a nice attempt
    Though I was surprised
    That it was your first one.

    It gave me some confidence
    To try it out too.
    There’s no rhyme in here
    Though hopefully some reason.

Let me know what you think.

