What do I want to be?

A friend of mine wanted to know what I wanted to be. This is what I told her:

Today while having a cuppa tea, I drifted into this lonely window of my office. I looked down at its manicured lawns and saw two people diligently at work in the sun. They were cutting grass but not using a lawn mover but their own hands. Picking out each errant grass blade so that the rest confirm to a by and large uniformity, a man and his wife – I assumed it was his wife: the distance between them told me so, not much, not little either- were at work. Sometimes, they exchanged a word or two. My bigger-than-big organization supports so many people, I thought. But actually I envied them. Their work was simple, kept them in touch with nature and most of all, kept them together. Suddenly, a shadow enveloped the lawn like a giant umbrella. The sun had disappeared. But it didn’t make a difference to them. They continued like before. Not a blade more, not a blade less.

I want to be a grass cutter.

4 thoughts on “What do I want to be?

  1. A very ‘romantic’ psot. I can almost see you standing with a cup in your hand and gazing down at the lawn!
    Nice post! 🙂

  2. Just a few days ago, a friend at office was telling me that she wanted to be a driver, because you get the whole day to yourself while your boss is at work, and so can read the whole day!!! ’tis certainly a time for ‘exotic’ vocations 🙂

Let me know what you think.

