I am a bit put off, and that’s an understatement!

You know how it is: you can’t stand of anyone says something bad about your city. Today, I really lost my cool with A, who was bad-mouthing Chennai big time. And I am not passionate about the city in the way that some people can be. I am really surprised by my own reaction! All I can say is I belong to two cities – Chennai and Kolkata. Even though right now I don’t even like their brand-new non-colonial names! Madras is what I relate to best and Calcutta is what comes to my lips first.

I am not saying that Chennai is like heaven on earth. (Well, neither is Calcutta; but I love it anyway!) That khitaab – as they say in Urdu – goes to Kashmir! Jokes apart, I know there are many problems unique to this city, which may make some people cringe. But I cannot stand the fact that anyone can keep telling me again and again and again and again, how bad it is. Do you get the picture?. Everything in this world is bad, wrong, mad, crazy, or on its way out; the last thing I want to know is how bad, wrong, mad, or crazy things already are. I know that. I am trying to live in its midst. And I want to ignore certain things because I have other things as priority. I have a good mind to say to A, who pushed me over the edge, “Deal with it!”

This feels good. I will write more rants from now on! 😀 Also, I know now why I write – to sort out my feelings!

3 thoughts on “I am a bit put off, and that’s an understatement!

  1. Hee hee. 😉
    Love you for what you did that day. I could not take it either, and I am not the hugest fan of Chennai city! You know that, don’t you?

  2. I am also fiercly protective about Bangalore. Cannot identify with Bengalooru and get very irritated when all people can talk about is the traffic congestion. They never talk about the good things like weather, people etc…
    AFJ, am coming to your blog after a loooong time and have tagged you too! Check my blog for details and happy posting 🙂

Let me know what you think.

