Reading update

I have been reading rather sporadically for a month for so. But since I have been reading many books at one time, some are a bit left behind.

Notable books I am reading right now:

  • Memoirs by Pablo Neruda (Memoir)
  • Istanbul by Orhan Pamuk (Memoir)
  • Isla Negra: A Notebook by Pablo Neruda (Poetry)
  • The Gabriel Club by Joydeep Ray-Bhattacharya (Fiction)

Books I have finished recently:

  • Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy (Young Adult Fiction)
  • Toast by Nigel Slater (Food Autobiography)
  • Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl (Fiction)
  • The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne (Fiction)

Both Pessl and Landy are first time authors. Landy has created a truly unforgettable character the detective Skuldugery Pleasant. Pessl’s mystery was erudite and clever. Nigel Slater is a rare find. No part of this book was boring. But the best was Boyne’s book. I was so shaken after I read it.

One thought on “Reading update

  1. Hi AFJ,

    How is Istanbul? Update us when you are done. I enjoy books with cities as the focus, travelogues.. One of my favorites is “In Search of King Solomon’s Mines by Tahir Shah”. Its an amazing treasure hunt book.

    I just started “Go Tell It on the Mountain by James Baldwin”, but then the 3rd anniv issue of Timeout Mumbai arrived :).

Let me know what you think.

