Should I, Shouldn’t I?

I feel like the clock is ticking on my writing. I have to do it now or it won’t matter at all.

 

Nineteen and twenty three-year olds are doing it. And doing it well.

 

The Eyes of the King (2008)

 

Nineteen year-old Catherine Banner lives in Cambridge, England. She wrote the Eyes of a King trilogy after school and on summer vacations. She began when she was fourteen. She is being hailed as the new J.K Rowling. Though, time will tell if she is one. I remember Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series was similarly hyped.

 

Kiffe Kiffe Tomorrow (2004)

 

Faïza Guène’s first novel, the semi-autobiographical tale of a young woman in Paris’s deprived suburbs, was an instant publishing sensation. The French have always loved coming-of-age stories be it François Truffaut’s Antoine Doinel films or Françoise Sagan’s novel “Bonjour Tristesse”. But Guène’s looked beyond the façade of the slick central neighborhoods into the surburbs, which erupted a year later in the 2005 riots.

 

A friend of mine will gently remind me that age has nothing to do with it. I agree sometimes.  

 

I remember this wonderful line from the recently-recognized French film, “The Class.” I haven’t seen the film just snippets while the excited voice over of a bored journalist describes yet another Cannes story. In a classroom, the teacher tells a group of students that their outer lives are boring – eat, sleep, drink, brush teeth etc. But what do we feel? That is what he is interested in. The world is the same; the activities are not different. It’s this “feeling” that counts. All art is at some level this perception of the world and our reaction to it.

13 thoughts on “Should I, Shouldn’t I?

  1. I’m saying I should write often and not just as a blog. But write seriously enough like these kids mentioned in the post. 🙂

  2. did you mean me @ “A friend of mine will gently remind me…”?

    well, since you know that, i won’t say it.

    at this time, i’ll say only one thing – the same the billy collins said:

    Advice to Writers, by Billy Collins

    Even if it keeps you up all night,
    wash down the walls and scrub the floor
    of your study before composing a syllable.
    Clean the place as if the Pope were on his way.

    Spotlessness is the niece of inspiration.
    The more you clean, the more brilliant
    your writing will be, so do not hesitate to take
    to the open fields to scour the undersides
    of rocks or swab in the dark forest
    upper branches, nests full of eggs.

    When you find your way back home
    and stow the sponges and brushes under the sink,
    you will behold in the light of dawn
    the immaculate altar of your desk,
    a clean surface in the middle of a clean world.

    From a small vase, sparkling blue, lift
    a yellow pencil, the sharpest of the bouquet,
    and cover pages with tiny sentences
    like long rows of devoted ants
    that followed you in from the woods.

    oh, btw, the header image is fab!

  3. @ Atul: Hmm, actually I meant another friend of mine. Anupama, the playwright whose play I mailed you about. J

    I thought the way Billy Collins’ poem started was quite patronising. But I like the turn it takes in the second last stanza. That redeems it for me.

    Thank you! It is a rather colour-rich image. So I was wondering to use it or not. Then I saw how it looked and was bowled over. 🙂

    @ Gaizabonts: For one “Amit/Asuph” alliterates and they are both short words. Gaizabonts/Atul sounds – I think – a bit awkward. Would you prefer to be referred thus?

  4. You guys! *nod*

    @ Amit: You create controversy wherever you go and wherever you don’t as well! And that is a real talent!

    @ Atul: The highest authority of this blog – that would be me – has decided that you will remain Atul. Doesn’t Atul mean “incomparable”?

Let me know what you think.

