The fuel of life

I haven’t posted on food, that essential fuel of life, in a long time. I am not much of a cook, but when I do cook, I have always gotten compliments. No, it’s not just the family who don’t have a choice but to eat my cooking, but my friends agree as well. My latest experiment in the hot house a.k.a the kitchen is a big hit. How do I know? Thanks to my brother! He is like the world’s fussiest eater. The Anton Ego of my existence. And if my cooking passes his palate test, it’s not just good, it’s bloody good.

Take out your notepads, blackberrys, iPhones, cams and make a note of Paneer Bhurji a.k.a Scrambled Paneer.

Ingredients:

Crumbled paneer – 1 cup

Green pepper/Capsicum/Kashmiri mirch (diced into inch long pieces) – 1

Chopped tomatoes – 2

Chopped garlic – 4 tsp or 4 to 5 cloves

Chopped ginger – 1 tea spoon

Cumin seeds – 1 tea spoon

Chopped green chillies (optional) – 1 or 2

Chilli powder (optional) – 1/2 tea spoon

Chopped coriander – 1 table spoon

Cooking oil or ghee – 2 table spoon

Method: Heat oil in a heavy-bottomed pan. Add the cumin. When it starts spluttering, add ginger, garlic, and green chillies. Fry for a minute, then add the onions. Stir the onions till they turn soft and translucent. Then add turmeric, salt, and chilli powder. Add tomatoes and on medium heat cook till the mixture starts to separate from the oil. Keep stirring to prevent it from burning. Now, add the paneer, capsicum and cook for a couple of minutes while stirring it gently. Garnish with coriander before serving. Serve hot with naan or rice.

4 thoughts on “The fuel of life

Let me know what you think.

