Sometimes

…it bothers me that I don’t write. It’s not that I can’t write, and nothing’s stopping me from writing either. Of course, there are the everyday irritants like time and space but apart from that, nothing. And yet I don’t write as much as I should.

However, every time I start to write, the words flow. And yet I haven’t completed as much as a short story, let alone anything longer. (The only long work I have completed is a Sherlock Holmes adaptation for children. All credit goes to my editor for pushing me through it.) The only complete works I create are poems because, well, no one’s decided how long, complex, metaphysical or silly they can be.

I lack the discipline to write every day. It could be that I deal with words (clinical, corporate) all day that by the time I am free to write the way I want to (creative, complex), I can’t. I am not even sure if writing in a blog will help other than as a place to rant or a book/movie review collection. And what makes it worse is I know what’s the cure. To write.

10 thoughts on “Sometimes

    1. Agree, but the next 20% is the one that’s tough. And often times it’s not the words (though we do curse them much easily) but the concepts that we want to present and our struggle for presentation that is an obstacle.

  1. Heyyy det-res! Thank you so much for coming by after such a long time! Aww! Thanks so much for your wishes! I need them!

    1. I am always looking out for an update here. I have said this before and I say it again, I love the way you write. I wish you would write more often.

  2. Hey AFJ,

    Stopped by your blog after a while and found three new posts! Thanks a ton for sharing the Wislawa Szymborska poem and Murakami’s acceptance speech. Priceless!

    Since you do a lot of writing offline as well, it bothers you that you don’t write. For me, the little writing that used to happen was only on the blog. I too used to be bothered when the gaps between my posts got longer. Now it does not bother me either. I don’t know whether I will be able to get back.

    You keep going. I missed your posts. 🙂

  3. @changered: It’s so true! We do have that ONE writer within us – lousy or not only time will tell!
    @sowmya: Madam! Long time, no see! Si, señorita!
    @Rita: OMG! Such a long time re! Thanks so much! The authors concerned should get credit, not me! 😀 Thanks so much for coming by!

Let me know what you think.

