Buy a Cézanne and get a Monet free

There is something wrong with the world when the regular “buy one and get one free” concept can be applied to art! In the last week of 2009, I was hypnotised by the bargain counter at the neighbourhood bookstore. It has become a true mega-consumerist utopia. And I its shameless consumer. The prices of the bargain books were not reduced rather one book is given away along with the other. Obviously, of the same price, size, and maybe other essential parameters such as weight. So I bought a book on Cézanne and had to hunt for another art book to fulfil the basic criteria. Luckily Monet found me. Till now, I still can’t believe it—I bought a Cézanne and got a Monet free!

Let me know what you think.

