Gone, gayab

He has left
Gone. Gayab.
Left me glass-eyed
like a dead fish
to face endless tomorrows
that we knew once
and I don’t, anymore.

—–

Note: I have lots of notebooks lying around where I scribble my poems. Last week, I picked one up and rushed to Spanish class. I found this poem that I had written on 17 June 2007 in it. It’s been a while since I looked at this poem but when I read it now I realised I didn’t want to change it in any way. That was a good enough reason to post it.

Warning: It was written under the heavy influence of poetry and Agha Shahid Ali.

Let me know what you think.

